Gelatin Capsule FAQs
What is gelatin and where do you obtain the gelatin used in your products?
Gelatin is an animal protein used to make capsules, which can deliver measured amounts of products. The pharmaceutical quality gelatin used in our two-piece hard-shell gelatin capsules is obtained through the processing of collagen, a protein composed of eighteen different amino acids found in the connective tissues and bones of most animals, including humans.
What are the animal sources for your gelatin?
Our two-piece hard-shell gelatin capsules (powder filled) are typically made of a combination of beef (bovine) and pork (porcine) gelatins. By contrast, our softgel (liquid filled) gelatin capsules are typically derived solely from beef gelatin, not pork. Bovine sources must be BSE/TSE free. The gelatin is generally sourced from North America, but in some cases may also be sourced from Southeast or East Asia (primarily Thailand, Indonesia, or Japan) or South America (primarily Colombia).
Are NOW products available in capsules that don’t contain gelatin?
For vegetarians and vegans we also offer certain products in vegetable capsules, which are derived from either plant cellulose (specifically hydroxypropyl methylcellulose from pine trees) or vegetable polysaccharides from tapioca.